ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Riding & Touring > Riding Gear, Equipment & Services > Bikes

Bikes Do you have other bikes you like? Put your reviews of them here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 5th, 2010   #1
Fanman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0 Fanman can only hope to improve
Default F1 codes

Can any one tell me when the F1 light is on, but the bike still runs good, where the problem might be. The sensorl comes on at 3900rpm, but flashes no code.
Fanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010   #2
Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: F1 codes

The F1 light will only blink with the side stand down, the engine off and the kill switch on run.

To read the memory for problems.
Turn the ign. switch to off.
Remove the seat.
Short the Brown--Green/Pink wires in the service connector.
Turn the ign. switch on and kill switch to run.
If there is memory the F1 light will begin to flash.
Count the number of flashes.


You will need a shop manual.

Paul
-
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010   #3
Blue Bayou
Senior Member
 
Blue Bayou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Astoria, Oregon
Posts: 275
Rep Power: 73 Blue Bayou will become famous soon enough
Default Re: F1 codes

I think you may have that wrong Paul. If the FI light is on while riding, simply pull to a stop, place trans in Neutral, and put the sidestand down. The FI light will blink the current fault code. The part about reading the memory you have right.

I have been dealing with this myself. I wonder if I got a tank of bad gas. At the last fill up, I added a bottle of Injector Cleaner, and after the first 50 miles, still no FI light. Hopefully this has solved the issue so I don't have to tear off the plastic and test the Knock Sensor......
__________________
Jim Osborn
IBA Member 44624
2004 ST1300/
Blue Bayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010   #4
Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: F1 codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Bayou View Post
I think you may have that wrong Paul. If the FI light is on while riding, simply pull to a stop, place trans in Neutral, and put the sidestand down. The FI light will blink the current fault code. The part about reading the memory you have right.

I have been dealing with this myself. I wonder if I got a tank of bad gas. At the last fill up, I added a bottle of Injector Cleaner, and after the first 50 miles, still no FI light. Hopefully this has solved the issue so I don't have to tear off the plastic and test the Knock Sensor......
You are probably correct on that.
I've never been in the position that I caught the problem on the fly and could read it without shutting it down somewhere. I have always gone in through the memory.

Paul
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2010   #5
Blue Bayou
Senior Member
 
Blue Bayou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Astoria, Oregon
Posts: 275
Rep Power: 73 Blue Bayou will become famous soon enough
Default Re: F1 codes

I tore into my bike this afternoon, and found through testing that the issue is a short in the wire that goes to the Left Knock Sensor. Now, I'm having a dickens of a time finding where in the world it goes!!!! I find a red/blue wire in the back at the ECM Connector that matches the red/blue wire leading from the Knock Sensor, but can't find a red/blue wire in the main wiring harness under the seat. Help me find it Paul!!! Any idea where it goes? Also, am I going to have to remove the tank and airbox to replace/repair the wire? I'm leaving now to go buy a decent flashlight that actually works so I can see down into the bowels of the ST!!!
__________________
Jim Osborn
IBA Member 44624
2004 ST1300/
Blue Bayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2010   #6
Fanman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0 Fanman can only hope to improve
Default Re: F1 codes

Be careful when you remove the air box. When mine was done, the pcv tube was pinched when the box was replaceding leading to excessive oil pressure, and causing blow by through the valve gaskets.

I have also learned that when replacing the gaskets, also get the rubber settings, about $35 that go with it rather than trying to reuse the old ones. Reusing the original ones may still not resove the blow by problem.

I am have to do some extensive wiring on my 'o3 because of accessories that were cut into the wiring harness by those in the "Not know category", causing farther damage to the system.
Fanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2010   #7
Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: F1 codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Bayou View Post
I tore into my bike this afternoon, and found through testing that the issue is a short in the wire that goes to the Left Knock Sensor. Now, I'm having a dickens of a time finding where in the world it goes!!!! I find a red/blue wire in the back at the ECM Connector that matches the red/blue wire leading from the Knock Sensor, but can't find a red/blue wire in the main wiring harness under the seat. Help me find it Paul!!! Any idea where it goes? Also, am I going to have to remove the tank and airbox to replace/repair the wire? I'm leaving now to go buy a decent flashlight that actually works so I can see down into the bowels of the ST!!!

Check year and model info to be sure, I entered 2004 ABS. On the Crankcase page number 9 Sub-Wire, Engine. It is a 9 Pin Gray connector. The easiest way to find it will be trace back from the Knock Sensor, also on this page. I think this is the gray connector located on the left side back and lower than the head but don't hold me to that. It will be a single wire. My test harness has it as a slightly gray wire cover but yours may differ. I know nothing about year and model of the test harness.
The next time the Red/Blue pops up is at the ECM.
http://partsfinder.onlinemicrofiche....=13&A=446&B=19


Paul
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2010   #8
Blue Bayou
Senior Member
 
Blue Bayou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Astoria, Oregon
Posts: 275
Rep Power: 73 Blue Bayou will become famous soon enough
Default Re: F1 codes

Looks like the single wire goes into an assembly plug. It also looks like I'm going to have no choice but to remove the fuel tank.
__________________
Jim Osborn
IBA Member 44624
2004 ST1300/
Blue Bayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2010   #9
Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: F1 codes

The engine sub harness connector is on the right side by the EVAP can. The connector on the left is the throttle body sub harness. Sorry.

Paul
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2010   #10
Blue Bayou
Senior Member
 
Blue Bayou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Astoria, Oregon
Posts: 275
Rep Power: 73 Blue Bayou will become famous soon enough
Default Re: F1 codes

I've basically torn the entire wiring harness apart, and have yet to find the ground fault.... So, I bit the bullet and simply layed a new wire from the sub harness connector on the right side, by the EVAP can, to the rear ECM connector. No more ground fault!!! But, did have to remove the fuel tank and airbox.
__________________
Jim Osborn
IBA Member 44624
2004 ST1300/
Blue Bayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM