ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1300 Forums > Maintenance & Repair > Other

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 6th, 2015   #1
LEINADEUGAL
Donators
 
LEINADEUGAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frelighsburg,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 646
Rep Power: 117 LEINADEUGAL is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

Recently I had to get out some FI code out of the ECM (ECU), on my 2003 thru the diagnostic plug under the Seat .I had to clean it with contact cleaner before ,because it was really dirty and started to show some bad green stuff on the surface of the contact

Yesterday , I had to check for a friend ,for code also , on his 2007 ST 1300 model . His diagnostic plug have a " protection Cap " with a rubber seal in the bottom that prevent water and dust to enter in the dignostic plug

I never seen that protection Cap on any 2003 Model .Did some research on line and the result gave me this description : Cap Dummy (4P) Red Honda part no 32606-GEV-761 . It is ref. no 23 on this site . . . http://honda.goaz.com/a/Honda_2004_S...CS4F3500B.html

More search gave me that this "Cap" is used on many Honda starting on 2004 . . . http://www.ronayers.com/oemparts/p/h...p-dummy-4p-red

Some site like this one even add the 2003 to the list . . . http://honda.goaz.com/p/Honda_2004_S...6-GEV-761.html


There is a possibillity that 32606-GEV-761 Cap fits also on our 2003 model.This Cap seems to be buid in two pieces

Anybody tried this cap on a 2003 model yet ?

Daniel
LEINADEUGAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2015   #2
PaulRB
The Grouch
 
PaulRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Southwest U.S.
Posts: 2,861
Rep Power: 91 PaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

I'm not using that Cap but the Yuasa replacement battery came shipped with silicone "caps" on the two posts.
One of them has resided on my plug for some time. It's even arrest me red.
I guess I should look under it and see if I have some bad green stuff.


Paul
PaulRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2015   #3
PaulRB
The Grouch
 
PaulRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Southwest U.S.
Posts: 2,861
Rep Power: 91 PaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

Does this Dummy Cap have the four pins in it?
Could it be wired to make the "tool" to reset the codes?

Paul
PaulRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2015   #4
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,850
Rep Power: 128 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default

The dummy cap on mine is smooth with no provision for adding any pins.


-Jeff
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2015   #5
LEINADEUGAL
Donators
 
LEINADEUGAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frelighsburg,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 646
Rep Power: 117 LEINADEUGAL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulRB View Post
Does this Dummy Cap have the four pins in it?
Could it be wired to make the "tool" to reset the codes?

Paul
Like Jeff said . . . no pins inside Paul .

The two advantages with that cap is ,it hold verry good on the plug and maintain pressure on the rubber seal inside of Cap , preventing dust ,humidity or water intrusion .

When my Friend come back to my place with is 2007 ST , I have to remember to take off that Cap from is plug and try it on my 2003 ST diagnostic plug to see if it fits .

I also will have to take a verry close look at that Cap , to see if it is built in two pieces because it is hard to see the detail of the Cap online ( ref. no 23 )On the online ST wire harness a close look on the plug make me beleive that there is a part already attached to the diagnostic Plug .Then , they would only sell the Cap alone . . .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MCS4F3500B.jpg (59.0 KB, 117 views)
LEINADEUGAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2015   #6
PaulRB
The Grouch
 
PaulRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Southwest U.S.
Posts: 2,861
Rep Power: 91 PaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

Thanks guys.
I don't know that I need on but I should probably have one.
Genuine Honda items are are usually good for 3-5MPG added.


Paul
PaulRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2015   #7
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,038
Rep Power: 152 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

Is the diagnostic plug a 2 pin connector?
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2015   #8
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,850
Rep Power: 128 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ligito View Post
Is the diagnostic plug a 2 pin connector?

There are four wires in that connector.


-Jeff
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2015   #9
PaulRB
The Grouch
 
PaulRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Southwest U.S.
Posts: 2,861
Rep Power: 91 PaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

It's a odd sized connector.
I tried several 4 pin connectors from several manufactures, both connectors and bikes, but never found one that fit.
I was looking primarily to make the jumper to read/erase the codes but keeping unauthorized stuff out of the plug was also a consideration.
I ended up with the silicone cap off the battery to keep stuff out and poke the holes with a highly modified paper clip.
High tech at it's absolute finest.


Paul
PaulRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2015   #10
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,038
Rep Power: 152 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Diagnostic plug protection Cap . . .

My uncle was an electronics repairman.
He told me about making a connector, back in the 60's but I never tried it.

To apply that to this connector, take 2 pins and make a jumper (does it need more than 2?) then use some tape, to form a mold and fill it with epoxy. This would give you the connector for future readings.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM