ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1300 Forums > Maintenance & Repair > Other

Old September 12th, 2012   #1
Luiggi ST
Donators

Exclamation poor performance in my 03

Hello guys,

A couple of weeks ago took ST for a spin, first thing I noticed was that once engine reached idle level, the tachometer was very erratic going between 500 to 800 RPMs when normally it would be in the 1000 mark.

I thought it was nothing to worry about (probably still recovering from the hang over of the night before ), so there, I started riding and found that engine was not responding as usual, it lacked that punch, pulled over and did reved the throttle few times and heard this low faded prrr sound (haha you understand..I hope!), .also I noticed that going at 3000 RPMs ( at any speed ) the engine would feel unresponsive.

I hope my rudimentary English can give you a hint of what it could be.

I am planning taking the bike with the mechanic to do some valve measurement and change spark plugs, I expect this should cure my problem, but it may be something else that I am overlooking.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Saludos!!
Luis
Luiggi ST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2012   #2
Redfish
Donators

Rep Power: 107 Redfish is a jewel in the roughRedfish is a jewel in the roughRedfish is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: poor performance in my 03

I have no idea, but please keep us posted. Good luck!
Redfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2012   #3
Poppi
Donators

Sounds like you could have gotten some bad gas. If you can get "Seafoam" additive where you are, try it. Add 1 oz. per gallon of gas and run that for awhile. It will absorb water in your gas and clean your injectors.

Let us know what finally solves the problem.

Dale
Poppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2012   #4
drewactual