ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1300 Forums > Maintenance & Repair > Other

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 28th, 2015   #1
phidoe
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0 phidoe can only hope to improve
Default no headlights on 2007 ST

New to me bike. It was purchased with a JMCB 2003 installed. I have a Bluetooth headset so I spent Sunday morning tracing wires and removing the hardware. Now my headlights won't illuminate. The marker lights are on and the blue high beam indicator comes on in the dash when the high beams are switched but no lights. I found two fuses labelled as head lights but neither were blown. I lubed the switches on the right and left handle bars just in case. I fiddled with the dimmer button as well since it appears that the headlight wiring goes through everything and traced back everything it took off just in case. Any ideas? The, Ken
phidoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015   #2
ibike2havefun
Senior Member
 
ibike2havefun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 318
Rep Power: 0 ibike2havefun can only hope to improve
Default Re: no headlights on 2007 ST

Don't suppose you dislodged the connectors at the backs of the lamps? After changing mine the right side has developed a habit of working loose.
__________________
-= Keith Adams =-
Rockville, MD, USA
STOC # 8824. Embarrassingly high but it's mine.
Now to try to wear it out.

ibike2havefun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2015   #3
PaulRB
The Grouch
 
PaulRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Southwest U.S.
Posts: 2,861
Rep Power: 91 PaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura aboutPaulRB has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: no headlights on 2007 ST

Is your kill switch on the right handle bar off?
I do not use the Honda wiring to light off the headlights so I can't check this to see if the kill switch in the off position will not power up the lights. Simple enough to look at and see.

Clearance lights use the same wiring as the tail lights.
The will light independently of the head light.
If you clearance lights are on your tail lights should be.

When pressed the start button shuts off the headlights. Stuck switch?

The sockets to each headlight bulb are "pinned" requiring you to press both sides of the connector to remove them.
Seems like something you would remember if you had pulled the socket removing the headlight assembly, if you did remove it.
Pull one or the other and meter it to see if you have power at the socket with the key on.

One other item on the headlight assembly is the "Tip over switch".
Make sure you reconnect it if you ever remove the headlight.
Not much will work if the tip over switch is unplugged, the system thinks the bike is laying on it's side and will not power up much of anything. This one can cost you serious time spent in checking all the connections for the recently installed add-on's thinking the problem is there.


Paul
PaulRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2015   #4
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,850
Rep Power: 128 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default

Dirty starter switch? If the start switch does not fully return after pressing, the headlights will remain off.


-Jeff
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM