ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1300 Forums > Accessories & Modifications (Farkles) > GPS, Navigation & Routing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 30th, 2012   #11
DickPeake
Super Moderator
 
DickPeake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bedfordshire, England
Posts: 1,308
Rep Power: 127 DickPeake has a spectacular aura aboutDickPeake has a spectacular aura aboutDickPeake has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

Tyre are having server problems - most unusual but they have provided a temporary download link which can be found on this page: http://www.tyretotravel.com/blog/2012/download-tyre/
__________________
My current stable:
1971 Triumph GT6 Mk II
1977 Honda CB550F2
1977 Triumph Bonneville T140V
2003 Land Rover Defender 110 - sold
2003 Honda ST1300ABS - sold
2010 Vauxhall Insignia Elite
2014 Honda CTX1300 TCS/ABS
DickPeake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2012   #12
Iamike
Loquacious Member
 
Iamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 580
Rep Power: 117 Iamike is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

I was talking to a buddy about GPS' and mentioned that I didn't like the screen colors on mine. He said that he switched his to night mode and is much happier. I'll have to get out some time and give it a try.
__________________
Iowa
Iamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2012   #13
MZEMS2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern WI
Posts: 208
Rep Power: 0 MZEMS2 can only hope to improve
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

What does Tyre let you do? Can you pick the roads you wanna travel on, or will it just route the quickest route to a destination? I'd like to be able to sit down with a hard map on the table and pick some back roads between point A and point B, then download the route. Is this what Tyre offers?
MZEMS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2012   #14
DickPeake
Super Moderator
 
DickPeake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bedfordshire, England
Posts: 1,308
Rep Power: 127 DickPeake has a spectacular aura aboutDickPeake has a spectacular aura aboutDickPeake has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonDoo View Post
What does Tyre let you do? Can you pick the roads you wanna travel on, or will it just route the quickest route to a destination? I'd like to be able to sit down with a hard map on the table and pick some back roads between point A and point B, then download the route. Is this what Tyre offers?
TYRE lets you pick the exact route you want to travel, it doesn't constrict you to fastest route, shortest route, economic route etc. You plot your route then save it as an itinerary file (*.itn for TomTom) and copy it to your satnav. Then, on the day you want to travel, you load that itinerary file into your satnav and just follow it along. I plot out a route per day on my European travels and that takes me, and the group I am leading, from the overnight stop along the days route, with stops at scenic views, food stops, coffee breaks, fuel stops and so on, until we arrive at the next night's overnight stop. You have to put the homework in, and I use real paper maps as well in the 'consultation' stages, but when the trip actually starts, it just makes life so easy. The caveat is that you still need to know where you are going and have a general sense of direction.
__________________
My current stable:
1971 Triumph GT6 Mk II
1977 Honda CB550F2
1977 Triumph Bonneville T140V
2003 Land Rover Defender 110 - sold
2003 Honda ST1300ABS - sold
2010 Vauxhall Insignia Elite
2014 Honda CTX1300 TCS/ABS
DickPeake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2012   #15
MZEMS2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern WI
Posts: 208
Rep Power: 0 MZEMS2 can only hope to improve
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

Well, it sure sounds like it could be handy. That's just what I'd like it to do. Just not sure it will work for my Garmin Nuvi 1450.
MZEMS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2012   #16
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,076
Rep Power: 154 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

It will work with both Garmin and Tom Tom devices.

I downloaded a trial version of Streets and Trips and it looks like TYRE has more function.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2012   #17
MZEMS2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern WI
Posts: 208
Rep Power: 0 MZEMS2 can only hope to improve
Default Re: Creating routes on GPS

After playing with the program and downloading a route to ride, I found TYRE pretty dang cool. I have a ride planned with a bunch of friends and coworkers scheduled for Saturday. I planned it all and logged the route, so we'll see how well it works again. So far, just one ride using it, but I've been planning several other routes on the computer. I just have to figure out a few details, like how to lay out a route without it saving every single spot that I click on.
MZEMS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM