ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1300 Forums > Accessories & Modifications (Farkles) > GPS, Navigation & Routing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 24th, 2013   #1
Thumpower
Member
 
Thumpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ventura, ca
Posts: 46
Rep Power: 0 Thumpower can only hope to improve
Default Zumo 665 with XM

I have just installed this unit and am trying to get the XM feature to work. I subscribed to XM last night and my Garmin unit says that I have over 100 channels to choose from. The question is how do I access the channels and make the radio work? Believe it or not I have pored through the manual and it only tells you how to subscribe, not how to work the radio!
Thumpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2013   #2
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,865
Rep Power: 130 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default

On the main screen touch the music button, then select the XM radio as the source. Make sure the XM radio is turned on in the settings menu.


-Jeff-
STOC 025
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2013   #3
Thumpower
Member
 
Thumpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ventura, ca
Posts: 46
Rep Power: 0 Thumpower can only hope to improve
Default Re: Zumo 665 with XM

My main screen doesn't have a music button. If I go to Tools, I can select Media player, but there is no listing for XM.

But now I've got another problem - I was loading routes for the 3 flags and it all seemed to work fine, but I screwed up and didn't enter motel addresses, so was doing it all over again - now I can't get the routes to send to my GPS. It just churns along saying sending forever and never completes. The first round it just popped instantly. Checked my plug-in and it is fine. Maybe I should just stick with paper maps...
Thumpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2013   #4
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,865
Rep Power: 130 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default Zumo 665 with XM

Whoops, just noticed you have a 665, I was thinking 550.


-Jeff-
STOC 025
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2013   #5
chaissos
Donators
 
chaissos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Rouand'a'bout San Antonio
Posts: 2,116
Rep Power: 88 chaissos will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Zumo 665 with XM

Maybe if you re-name the maps. I'm not sure how they store on that unit, but I've seen problems with other units that wouldn't reload a map with the same name. That, or delete the existing on the unit itself.

Did you connect the XM antennae prior to trying to turn on XM? It may not think XM is available without it.
__________________
Scott, 2012 "STutter", STOC# 8642
Go forth and be a force of awesome - do epic shit.
chaissos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2013   #6
Andy Kirby
Senior Member
 
Andy Kirby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MA USA
Posts: 245
Rep Power: 114 Andy Kirby will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Zumo 665 with XM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumpower View Post
My main screen doesn't have a music button. If I go to Tools, I can select Media player, but there is no listing for XM.
With mine I have to go through the Media Player menu the first time the GPS is switched on and select XM, once that has been done the 'music note' short cut shows up on the map screen and I can access the media player with that short cut. The XM antenna does have to be plugged in with a clear view of the sky to get a signal for XM to be available.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumpower View Post
But now I've got another problem - I was loading routes for the 3 flags and it all seemed to work fine, but I screwed up and didn't enter motel addresses, so was doing it all over again - now I can't get the routes to send to my GPS. It just churns along saying sending forever and never completes. The first round it just popped instantly. Checked my plug-in and it is fine. Maybe I should just stick with paper maps...
Never had that issue but delete all previous routes and waypoints (favorites) and try uploading to the GPS again. You don't; mention if you are using Basecamp, Mapsource or Windows itself to transfer the files, which is it?

Also the Zumo Forum is a great source of assistance if you need it.

Hope that helps?

Andy
Andy Kirby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2013   #7
zldrider
Chief Bottle-washer
 
zldrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,650
Rep Power: 3 zldrider will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Zumo 665 with XM

I was going to suggest deleting the old routes too. You may have run out of storage space.
__________________
Joe Zulaski
Redmond, WA
MSF RiderCoach
STOC# 929, IBA# 218

zldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2013   #8
Thumpower
Member
 
Thumpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ventura, ca
Posts: 46
Rep Power: 0 Thumpower can only hope to improve
Default Re: Zumo 665 with XM

Thanks for all the help, guys. Indeed, I found that I had to go to media player, then hit source for the XM to come up, then all was ok.

As far as the map loading - uh - I think my USB cable came loose...

Thanks a ton!
Thumpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2013   #9
chaissos
Donators
 
chaissos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Rouand'a'bout San Antonio
Posts: 2,116
Rep Power: 88 chaissos will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Zumo 665 with XM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumpower View Post
I think my USB cable came loose...

Thanks a ton!
It's always the little things...
__________________
Scott, 2012 "STutter", STOC# 8642
Go forth and be a force of awesome - do epic shit.
chaissos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM