ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Other > Off Topic

Off Topic If it is not ST1300 related, put it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 13th, 2016   #11
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 3,969
Rep Power: 148 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

This is one of the panels that I installed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Dash with Volt USB Cig S.jpg (40.4 KB, 37 views)
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2016   #12
chaissos
Donators
 
chaissos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Rouand'a'bout San Antonio
Posts: 2,011
Rep Power: 82 chaissos will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

Ooo...I like that. Where did you get it?
__________________
Scott, 2012 "STutter", STOC# 8642
Go forth and be a force of awesome - do epic shit.
chaissos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2016   #13
thekaz
New Member
 
thekaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: canadian west coast
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 thekaz can only hope to improve
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

I have a 2000 F250
I am assuming you have it wired through one of the power point fuses ?
You could use the radio run/acc trigger to power up a relay from your original power source.
thekaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2016   #14
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 3,969
Rep Power: 148 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaissos View Post
Ooo...I like that. Where did you get it?
https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...nels+turnraise

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...tch+and+panels

I bought the Turnraise and Mictuning products.
I haven't tried to remove the rockers from the Mictuning, or turnraise switches, some of them may not be as
versatile as the Carling brand.
I bought a custom rocker from another company and had difficulty installing it on a Carling switch body.
It didn't have the hole in the tab, for the pins to fit in.
I also bought Carling switches and panels.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul

Last edited by ligito; November 14th, 2016 at 02:22 PM.
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2016   #15
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 3,969
Rep Power: 148 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

By using some of those panels, I saved a lot of work and they look better than what I would have done.
It's much easier to fit a whole panel with precut holes, rather than having to cut them individually and the finished product looks better, too.
I didn't know that some of this stuff even existed.
It has come a long way, over the years.

I have spent more time and dollars on my pickup project than I should have but at least, I'm doing it myself.
And it keeps another old fart off the street.
We all know how important that is.
If I had paid someone else to do it, it may even have been cheaper but then they would probably use Scotchlocks, or T Taps and I won't use them.

Most of my time has been spent waiting for replies on technical issues and other stuff.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul

Last edited by ligito; November 14th, 2016 at 02:31 PM.
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2016   #16
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 3,969
Rep Power: 148 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

Before I put my F250SD dash back together, I just noticed a bulb, or two burned out and I can't get an answer on how many bulbs that it has.
I want to replace all of them, before putting it back together.

My manual doesn't say how many it uses.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2016   #17
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 3,969
Rep Power: 148 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekaz View Post
I have a 2000 F250
I am assuming you have it wired through one of the power point fuses ?
You could use the radio run/acc trigger to power up a relay from your original power source.
I reluctantly installed another switch that doesn't match, so I can turn the voltmeter and USB charger on, as needed.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2016   #18
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 3,969
Rep Power: 148 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

Here is another product line for panels.
https://www.amazon.com/Charger-ISWEE.../dp/B00RJVJJCI
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2016   #19
chaissos
Donators
 
chaissos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Rouand'a'bout San Antonio
Posts: 2,011
Rep Power: 82 chaissos will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

To check all the bulbs, you'll have to really pull it apart and look. I cant' speak for Ford, but my Toyota has a crapload of them. All LEDs or some sort of micro lights, and (if you go to a dealer) each one is from $7 to $13, depending on where it's used. So far, in the last 12 years, 4 have burned out.

If I were you, I'd replace the burned out ones, and just go from there. You may find the rest last another 17 years, or even the life of the vehicle. If it uses standard bulbs, you can get them anywhere they sell auto parts. If, however, it uses LEDs, that may not be so easy.
__________________
Scott, 2012 "STutter", STOC# 8642
Go forth and be a force of awesome - do epic shit.
chaissos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2016   #20
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,837
Rep Power: 125 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Digital DC voltmeter

My Lexus IS300 had teeny, tiny incandescent bulbs in the dash with little rubber socks on them for color. Had a couple burn out in the center stack of the dash - major disassembly to change them. Besides completely removing the center stack panel from the car, there were two additional layers of disassembly with the dash on my bench to finally reach the bulbs. They kind of twist-lock into the PC board of the panel. I was very careful because everything seemed so delicate. Imagine my frustration to find them burnt out again a couple days later! I had to take the whole damned thing apart again!
Turned out I had been too meek in twisting them into place and they weren't completely locked in and fell out!
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net

Last edited by Wjbertrand; November 15th, 2016 at 05:32 PM.
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM