ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1100 Forums > General

General For posts related to the Honda ST1100.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 8th, 2014   #1
cameroul
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perlis, MALAYSIA
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0 cameroul can only hope to improve
Default Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

Hi netters, I just bought a 2004 ST1300. The problem is the multi display that display many indicator is not clear. Any body have any idea how to overcome this problem. Tqvm
cameroul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2014   #2
chaissos
Donators
 
chaissos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Rouand'a'bout San Antonio
Posts: 1,996
Rep Power: 79 chaissos will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

I think a bit more explanation of exactly what "not clear" means is in order.

Is the plastic fouled, are the colors not to your liking, are they out altogether, or is there something else?

I could see how some pesky scrubbing could distort the display without too much trouble.
__________________
Scott, 2012 "STutter", STOC# 8642
Go forth and be a force of awesome - do epic shit.
chaissos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2014   #3
cameroul
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perlis, MALAYSIA
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0 cameroul can only hope to improve
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

I am also sure that the problem is not because plastic cover. but the LCD itself sometimes seems sometimes lost. I read somewhere in the forum that the problem could be solved by connecting a wire directly from the battery to one of the connectors on the back of the display. What I know is we can't replace only the multi display unit but need to replace complete the whole set of meter unit n it will cost about nearly one thou.

Last edited by cameroul; December 8th, 2014 at 11:00 PM.
cameroul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2014   #4
cameroul
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perlis, MALAYSIA
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0 cameroul can only hope to improve
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

I'm also happy if somebody know where to get a use (secondhand) unit of the meter so I can buy n replace the thing
cameroul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2014   #5
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,826
Rep Power: 122 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

I've never heard of that jumper wire idea. Some folks have sent their displays in to have the LEDs changed to a different color (forget the place that does this). Keep in mind there are 3 brightness levels, perhaps your issue is a simple matter of adjustment?

Having said that, the ST13's display is not the easiest to read under certain lighting conditions. It is what it is.
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2014   #6
cameroul
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perlis, MALAYSIA
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0 cameroul can only hope to improve
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

Tq 4 UR response, but it's not because of that. I already try to adjust by using that toggle switch but the result still same. Just now I have read in Australia ST forum that the problem maybe linked to the battery. Old battery can cause that problem. I'm not check yet if that is correct or not.
cameroul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2014   #7
Rob2m
Loquacious Member
 
Rob2m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hull UK
Posts: 732
Rep Power: 54 Rob2m will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

A bit is getting lost in the translation here I think, why not post a picture.
__________________
"Today’s ride will remind me forever how good it is to be a motorcyclist, how good it is to be alive and how much we need to live life, rather than watch it pass us by." Green VFR. 1970-2012
Rob2m is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2014   #8
Wjbertrand
ST guru
 
Wjbertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 1,826
Rep Power: 122 Wjbertrand will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by cameroul View Post
Tq 4 UR response, but it's not because of that. I already try to adjust by using that toggle switch but the result still same. Just now I have read in Australia ST forum that the problem maybe linked to the battery. Old battery can cause that problem. I'm not check yet if that is correct or not.
Never heard of that before. Battery shouldn't matter as long as the system voltage is normal with the bike running, otherwise you have larger problems than the display.
__________________
-Jeff-
Ventura, CA
STOC 025
2005 ST1300A
2015 ST1200

The original ST1100 LiST is at www.st-riders.net
Wjbertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2014   #9
cameroul
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perlis, MALAYSIA
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0 cameroul can only hope to improve
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

Tqvm for all colleague who respond to my problem. Never mind, after I surf many forum about ST at least I realize that so many ST owner facing the same problem an maybe until now the only way to solve is replace the meter combination
cameroul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2017   #10
charlie_bravo
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0 charlie_bravo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need To Know About ST 1300 Multidisplay

My Multi Display just went south. Rode for awhile, stopped, and when I came back, the display had a oval type "white-out" or short affecting 5 of the readouts. Fuel gauge and clock are not affected. The only way to read the affected areas is to get a reflection off the display at just the right angle. Any updates on this thread as far as causes and fixes? Thanks.
charlie_bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM