ST1300.us.com  

Go Back   ST1300.us.com > Honda ST1300 Forums > General

General For posts related to the Honda ST1300.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 8th, 2017   #11
zldrider
Chief Bottle-washer
 
zldrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,650
Rep Power: 3 zldrider will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

Why yes. Yes, there is. ;-)



But, it is Crimson.

Already started the farkling and just received my new Schuberth C4 helmet today. NICE!

Going with a V-Stream windshield this time.

Got a few other things on their way. Nothing big. The bike is pretty well setup as it is.

Joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulRB View Post
We are hearing who to blame, where to post, but the question has not been addressed.
Is there a new to you ST in residence?

Paul
__________________
Joe Zulaski
Redmond, WA
MSF RiderCoach
STOC# 929, IBA# 218

zldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2017   #12
chaissos
Donators
 
chaissos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Rouand'a'bout San Antonio
Posts: 2,117
Rep Power: 88 chaissos will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

First: Grats on the "new" ride!

For the site: I'm cool with whatever we can work out.

I'm still getting my servers virtualized (this shit is REALLY cool, BTW), and not everything is 100% stable. I have (so far) Server 2003 R2 w/ Exchange 2003 * 2, Server 2008 R2 (AD, DNS), Server 2003 R2 (AD, DNS, DHCP), Ubuntu, and a Windows 10 host running in VMs (Virtual Machines), all sitting on top of a Server 2008 R2 with Hyper-V, and a Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V core.

My next step is to set the hosts (the underlying host hardware) into a cluster. That way, all the VMs sit on top of the "cluster", and if one hardware host fails, everything fails to the other hardware host. So all the servers stay up and running.

I'm looking at UPS's. too. Got my eye on a couple rack-mount, 2U, 900 watt ones, and they run about $180 or so each. Still need a rack, but at the moment, I have everything "mounted" in a "rack" I built from wood a while ago. It's not exactly a 19" rack, but everything fits. I'll grab a pic and toss it up. The wife is happy, because it's consuming a lot less space in the office here than the previous setup, and all her data has been preserved.

I loaded Ubuntu (Linux) specifically for this site. I have little knowledge with it, though. That's a big problem with moving everything. I have to get the web server and everything else up and running to move it. That's why I was trying to figure out the back-end. IIS on Windows I can do, and MySQL I can also do. IIS supports multiple sites (called HTTP headers) so you can hit one IP with a different URL, and it can direct to a different instance of IIS, using different servers, and SQL or other back-ends.

I'd be more than happy to move it, and keep you and the regular mod's in place. I'm not interested in "taking over", more just "keeping alive".

And for those of you reading this who aren't into computers (and your brain is cringing), don't worry. Remember this: I'm trying to keep it all going, as cheap as possible. This computer stuff is what I do. All day, every day.

Chase
__________________
Scott, 2012 "STutter", STOC# 8642
Go forth and be a force of awesome - do epic shit.

Last edited by chaissos; June 9th, 2017 at 08:40 PM.
chaissos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2017   #13
zldrider
Chief Bottle-washer
 
zldrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,650
Rep Power: 3 zldrider will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

Hmmm, perhaps we should setup a Beta Environment prior to just "moving"?

That way, you can tinker till you get it right, etc. without impacting "the gang" here.



Quote:
Originally Posted by chaissos View Post
First: Grats on the "new" ride!

For the site: I'm cool with whatever we can work out.

I'm still getting my servers virtualized (this shit is REALLY cool, BTW), and not everything is 100% stable. I have (so far) Server 2003 R2 w/ Exchange 2003 * 2, Server 2008 R2 (AD, DNS), Server 2003 R2 (AD, DNS, DHCP), Ubuntu, and a Windows 10 host running in VMs (Virtual Machines), all sitting on top of a Server 2008 R2 with Hyper-V, and a Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V core.

My next step is to set the hosts (the underlying host hardware) into a cluster. That way, all the VMs sit on top of the "cluster", and if one hardware host fails, everything fails to the other hardware host. So all the servers stay up and running.

I'm looking at UPS's. too. Got my eye on a couple rack-mount, 2U, 900 watt ones, and they run about $180 or so each. Still need a rack, but at the moment, I have everything "mounted" in a "rack" I built from wood a while ago. It's not exactly a 19" rack, but everything fits. I'll grab a pic and toss it up. The wife is happy, because it's consuming a lot less space in the office here than the previous setup, and all her data has been preserved.

I loaded Ubuntu (Linux) specifically for this site. I have little knowledge with it, though. That's a big problem with moving everything. I have to get the web server and everything else up and running to move it. That's why I was trying to figure out the back-end. IIS on Windows I can do, and MySQL I can also do. IIS supports multiple sites (called HTTP headers) so you can hit one IP with a different URL, and it can direct to a different instance of IIS, using different servers, and SQL or other back-ends.

I'd be more than happy to move it, and keep you and the regular mod's in place. I'm not interested in "taking over", more just "keeping alive".

And for those of you reading this who aren't into computers (and your brain is cringing), don't worry. Remember this: I'm trying to keep it all going, as cheap as possible. This computer stuff is what I do. All day, every day.

Chase
__________________
Joe Zulaski
Redmond, WA
MSF RiderCoach
STOC# 929, IBA# 218

zldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2017   #14
ligito
Donators
 
ligito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,076
Rep Power: 154 ligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura aboutligito has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

Looking toward the future.
I hope it all works out favorably.
__________________
IBAN Old Fart

STOC 4669

Pantera Azul
ligito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2017   #15
Redfish
Donators
 
Redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Prairieville, Louisiana
Posts: 2,817
Rep Power: 112 Redfish is a jewel in the roughRedfish is a jewel in the roughRedfish is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

Joe, you have mentioned COST. While I have donated in the past, I have not done so recently. I can and will donate.

Some things I cannot fix or do myself. In those cases I just keep throwing my credit card at the problem until it stops bouncing off and things start working. I am willing to do that here.

BTW, I am Very Happy to read that you bought another bike. I am even happier that it is an ST.
__________________
Never run out of traction, ideas and real estate all at the same time.
Redfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2017   #16
zldrider
Chief Bottle-washer
 
zldrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,650
Rep Power: 3 zldrider will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

Just added the Kuryakan Goldwing adjustable brake and clutch levers. It was more complicated than I remembered but, I "gotter done".

Added an Aeroflow laminar flow plate behind the V-Stream windshield and MAN did that make a difference to the airflow off of the trailing edge of the shield - SMOOOOOOTH.

Started replacing the handlebar risers that came on the bike to make the Police switch fit with a set of Helibar risers (with powerlet plug and RAM ball mount) but, rounded out one of the hex head bolts on the right side.

Drilled out a hole in the bolt head and going to "tap it out" with a Tap and Die set that I have tonight. Then, I'll have to wait for the new bolts to come from Hondaline Direct. But, it will be worth it as the Helibar risers bring the handlebars farther back.

Oh, and I replaced the stock bar ends with Throttlemeisters for looks and a mechanical backup to the Audiovox cruise control.
__________________
Joe Zulaski
Redmond, WA
MSF RiderCoach
STOC# 929, IBA# 218


Last edited by zldrider; June 13th, 2017 at 10:05 PM.
zldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2017   #17
Dan55
Senior Member
 
Dan55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 183
Rep Power: 112 Dan55 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Once more into the breach!

Congrats for the new ride!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zldrider View Post
Added an Aeroflow laminar flow plate behind the V-Stream windshield and MAN did that make a difference to the airflow off of the trailing edge of the shield - SMOOOOOOTH.
Picture available for this windshield set-up?
Dan55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2011 ST1300.US.COM